Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region recognizes student achievement at annual Honors Day ceremony

Last Updated on May 8, 2015 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region recognized students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and leadership at its annual Honors Day ceremony Thursday, May 7, at the Kokomo Event & Conference Center.

Tyler Yeakley of Galveston, who is receiving his Associate of Science degree in Nursing, was named the 2015 recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for his academic excellence, his service to the college and community and his personal achievements both in and out of the classroom. The Chancellor’s Award is the highest honor in the Kokomo Region. Other nominees included Alisha Boyd of Logansport, Mimi Ford of Kokomo, Brenda Geisler of Idaville, Raychael Irving of Kokomo, Angela Johnson of Greentown, Krysten Moon of Peru, Darcy Vaile of Wabash, and Bradley Wick of Lucerne.

Three students – Alisha Boyd of Logansport, who is receiving her Associate of Science degree in Criminal Justice; Mimi Ford of Kokomo, who is receiving her Associate of Science degree in Paralegal Studies; and Parker McAdams of Peru, who is receiving his Associate of Science in General Studies – were honored with the Dr. Pam Lewis Award for Academic Excellence.  Award winners are selected based on earning the highest cumulative grade-point average in their class, as well as leadership, community service and school involvement.

Honored as the 2015 outstanding students by program were:

Accounting  – Deborah Diane Boruff,Kokomo
Agriculture – Raychael Erin Irving, Kokomo
Automotive – Bradley M. Wick, Lucerne
Business Administration – Cynthia Lee Williams, Peru
Computing and Informatics – Brenda D. Patty, Royal Center
Criminal Justice – Alisha G. Boyd, Logansport
Design Technology- Jake Kirby Jr., Russiaville
Early Childhood Education – Angela K. Johnson, Greentown
Education – Katelyn Capps, Kokomo
General Studies – Parker D. McAdams, Peru

Health Care Support-  Kimberly Ann Pearson, Logansport
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning – Charles A. Bradley,  Kokomo
Human Services – Darcy Sierra Vail, Wabash
Industrial Technology – Jayson A. Jones, Windfall
Liberal Arts – Courtney Michelle Cotner, Logansport
Medical Assisting-  Mindy Machelle Brown, Peru
Nursing – Tyler Wayne Yeakley, Galveston
Office Administration-  Cathi Sue Woodward, Flora
Paralegal Studies – Mimi Ford, Kokomo
Professional Communication -Brenda L. Geisler, Idaville
Public Safety – Rodney D. Brewer,  Lafayette
Visual Communication – Jeffrey David Hart, Kokomo

Members of Phi Theta Kappa, the international academic honor society with two chapters in Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region, who have been recognized for achievement at the regional level this year included Kourtney Hammitt of Kokomo, Distinguished Chapter Officer; Korin Rogers of Logansport, Most Outstanding Chapter Officer and $300 Dr. Eugene Spiess Scholarship; Debra Powers of Logansport, Distinguished Chapter Member; and Joshua Hryman of Peru, $800 Dr. Eugene Spiess Scholarship.

Students honored for their completion of Ivy Tech’s Student Leadership Academy included Courtney Thomas of Kewanna; Cynthia Dulin, Susanne Fallon, Carla Henderson, Courtney Jewell, and Amber Zehringer of Kokomo; Denise Curtis of Logansport; Melody Anderson and Stephanie Iliff of Peru; Susan Wakefield of Wabash; and Benny Hillis of West Middleton.

The Student Excellence in Volunteerism Award, which goes to one student in each Ivy Tech region each year and includes a $500 scholarship, was presented to Kourtney Hammitt. The Student Organization Service Project Award, presented each year to one registered student organization in each Ivy Tech region along with $500 to support its activities, went to the Beta Gamma Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

Cass County Online