21 students to compete in North Central Indiana Regional Spelling Bee

Last Updated on March 20, 2016 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. – The public is invited to the Kokomo Event & Conference Center Tuesday, March 22, as 21 elementary and middle school students compete at the North Central Indiana Regional Spelling Bee sponsored by Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region. Additional support for the regional bee is being provided by Haynes Community Federal Credit Union, American Tool and Party Rental, and Z92.5.

The contest will begin at 6:30 p.m. at the event center, 1500 N. Reed Road (Indiana 931). Winner of the regional competition will advance to the 2016 Scripps National Spelling Bee in May in the Washington, D.C., area.

Josh Rockey, associate professor of communication at Ivy Tech, will serve as emcee and pronouncer. Judges include Kevin Bostic, president of Ivy Tech’s Logansport Campus; Michelle Simmons, president of Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Campus; Dr. Tom McKaig, retired superintendent of Peru Community Schools and member of the Ivy Tech Kokomo Region Board of Trustees; and Bob Stephenson, director of the Literacy Coalition of Howard County.

The winner of the regional bee will receive an expenses-paid trip to the nationals along with The Samuel Louis Sugarman Award, which entitles the winner to 2016 United States Mint Proof Set; a Webster’s Third New International Dictionary, and one-year subscriptions to the Encyclopedia Britannica online. The second-place finisher will receive a Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary 11th edition donated by Merriam-Webster. The top three will receive Ivy Tech gift bags.
Students qualified for the regional by winning their schools’ spelling bees. Participants are in grades 4 through 8 and come from schools in from Howard, Tipton, Miami, Cass, and Fulton counties. The competitors, their grade, and their schools include:

Micah Gremelspacher, Acacia Academy, Kokomo
Alex Smithers, Blair Pointe Upper Elementary School, Peru
Cole Boldry, Caston Elementary School, Fulton
Rayah Beets, Central Middle School, Kokomo
Dylan Wyatt, Columbia Middle School, Logansport
Grace Van Bibber, Eastern Elementary School, Greentown
Evan Mink, Eastern Junior Senior High School, Greentown
Evan Armes, Homeschool Helpers, Tipton
Andrew Moss, Howard Elementary School, Kokomo
Jayden Brunnemer, Maconaquah Elementary School, Bunker Hill
Anastasia Spahr, Maconaquah Middle School, Bunker Hill
Ashlynne Harris, Maple Crest Middle School, Kokomo
Reese Hoover, North Miami Elementary School, Denver
Gracie Smith, North Miami Middle High School, Denver
Ben Batis, Northwestern Elementary School, Kokomo
Isabella Rogers, Northwestern Middle School, Kokomo
Abigail Brandenburg, Redeemer Lutheran School, Kokomo
Nico Dinglasa, Saints Joan of Arc & Patrick Elementary School, Kokomo
Krishi Patel, Taylor Primary School, Kokomo
Mitchell Dean, Western Intermediate School, Russiaville
Abigail Origer, Western Middle School, Russiaville

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College

Cass County Online