Logansport HS teacher named as finalist for 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year

Last Updated on September 6, 2016 by cassnetwork

Today, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz announced ten finalists for 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year.  The selection of the 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year will be announced in October.

“Everywhere I go, I see great teaching and learning happening in Hoosier classrooms,” said Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s Superintendent of Public Instruction.  “Great teachers can have a lifelong impact on a child’s life.  I am honored to recognize ten of these outstanding educators today who have demonstrated their commitment to high-quality instruction and service to Hoosier students.  I congratulate each of them on their accomplishment.”

For more than fifty years, the Indiana Department of Education has conducted the Indiana Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state.  All school corporations are invited to participate in this recognition program by nominating one teacher to represent local educators at the state level of the program.

The Indiana Teacher of the Year Selection Committee, which is comprised of former Indiana Teachers of the Year, selects the new Indiana Teacher of the Year through a rigorous application process.  The 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year will represent Indiana teachers at the national level in accordance with National Teacher of the Year guidelines.

The 2017 Indiana Teacher of the Year finalists are:

Michelle Burress
Plainfield High School
Plainfield Community School Corporation
Subject:  English, Journalism, Photography

Bobbi Jo Carter
Frankfort High School
Community Schools of Frankfort
Subject:  English, Language Arts, English Learner Program

John Gensic
Penn High School
Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
Subject:  Biology

Dennis Goins
Ben Davis High School and Area 31 Career Center
MSD of Wayne Township
Subject:  TV Broadcasting

Jarod Hammel
Huntington North High School
Huntington Community School Corporation
Subject:  Math

Chris Hill
Avon High School
Avon Community School Corporation
Subject:  Project Lead the Way, Engineering, Electronics

Mikayla Koharchik
Zionsville Middle School
Zionsville Community Schools
Subject:  Language Arts

Jessica Deckard Mann
Mishawaka High School
School City of Mishawaka
Subject:  English, Futures in Education

Jitka Nelson
Logansport Community High School
Logansport Community School Corporation
Subject:  English, Language Arts

Jennifer Jo Steed
Brownsburg High School
Brownsburg Community School Corporation
Subject:  German

Additional information about the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program can be found on the Department’s website.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana Department of Education