Find us on Facebook

Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing honors students at pinning ceremony

Last Updated on December 20, 2016 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. —Faculty from the Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing welcomed 38 new nurses to the profession, and congratulated 43 on their continued achievement, at its annual December recognition and pinning ceremony.

Held Thursday (December 15), the ceremony is “a traditional rite of passage that signifies acceptance into the profession of nursing,” said Dean Linda Wallace. “For those completing a graduate degree, it offers recognition of their advanced knowledge and skills from their peers.”

Wallace noted that 80 percent of health care providers world wide are nurses, and it is an honor to be part of the profession, and to educate those preparing to join it.

“Given that nurses are the most trusted of all professionals, and that nurses are ever-present, we have a responsibility to improve the health of the communities we serve, through education,” she said.

In addition to receiving pins, Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) students received the hoods that denote them as having earned an advanced degree. All students recited the Florence Nightingale pledge, a statement of the ethics and principles of the profession.

Those participating completed degrees in December 2016, and are eligible to participate in Commencement on May 9, 2017.

M.S.N. recipients honored included Tressia Puller, Carmel; Jennifer Gale, Colfax; Cynthia Vogel, Huntertown; Karri Woodard and Margaret Yeisley, Indianapolis; Lydia Capps, April Keesling, Amy Lennon, and Jacqueline Orndorff, Kokomo; Felita Wash-White, Noblesville; Kayla Underwood, Sweetser; and Melinda Himelick, Upland

Those completing the R.N. to B.S.N program included Renea Smith, Brookston; Tina Wheeldon, Chalmers; Cindy Trubey. Cicero; Sarah Dodds, Crawfordsville; Cathy Kingery, Cutler; Brooke Jenkins, Flora; Ramonna Fratena, Frankfort; Carolyn Jackson, Kokomo; Amanda Bilyeu, Ana Brown, Deena Brummett, Kimberly Butler, Kathleen Comfort, Shelly Day, Kiley Franklin, Amanda Kohl, Stephanie Meinhart, Erika Mullins, Samantha New, Carin Sondgerath, Lafayette; Amanda Wheeldon, Monticello; Margaret Jarrette, Mount Ayr; Sharon Bridson, Noblesville; Jana Doyle, Romney;  Alicia Johnson, Thorntown; Jennifer Beaver, Rosaria Leilani Fe Klinker, West Lafayette; Kelly Snider, Kristina Welchans, Westpoint; Godfrey Gichigo, Williamsport; Sherri Coon, Wingate.

Students completing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing included  Letitia Leininger, Akron; Ashleigh M. Miller, Anderson; Abigail Herron, Burlington; Maura Fredwell, Cicero; Matt Etter, Lauren Kayser. Delphi; Aaron Durm and Maciah Faucett, Elwood; Megan Agugliaro, Fishers; Kelsey B. Angell, Gail Gunn, Rachel Miller, Carolina Tovar, Frankfort; Layna Buckley, Greentown; Jenica Hartman, Tania Jocius, Kori Jones, Coral King, Vanessa Lindley, Jennifer Perdue, Alexandra Sullivan, Tamika Triplett, Stephanie Veach, Brenda Whitenight, Krystyne Wilson, Kevin Windell, Kokomo; Meaghan Estes, Lafayette; Amanda Dillon, Alysa Wright, Logansport; Samantha Cockrell, Marion; Katelyn Berman, Noblesville; Chelsey Jones, Peru; Jordan Wood, Rochester; Denise Godfrey, Russiaville; Shelley Fagan, Swayzee; Amanda Roberts, Tipton; Tabatha Franklin, Upland; and Kim Mannion, Westfield.