Indiana Bankers Association Announces Board of Directors for 2017

Last Updated on January 3, 2017 by cassnetwork

Members of the 2017 board of directors of the Indiana Bankers Association (IBA) have assumed their positions, effective Jan. 1. Board members were elected at the IBA Annual Convention in French Lick last September.

The functions of the board are to develop IBA policy and to establish long-range goals and objectives. The board also helps determine IBA’s legislative programs and positions on issues affecting the banking community. Board members are listed below by the capacities in which they serve:

IBA Officers
Chair – Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport
First Vice Chair – Clay W. Ewing, German American Bancorp Inc., Jasper
Second Vice Chair – Andrew J. Briggs, Bank of Geneva
Immediate Past Chair – Michael H. Head, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville
President and Chief Executive Officer – Amber R. Van Til, JD, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis

Constituent Directors
ICBA State Director – David M. Geis, Jackson County Bank, Seymour
ABA Membership Council – Michael K. Bauer, WesBanco Bank, New Albany
Future Leadership Division President – Kristin Marcuccilli, STAR Bank, Fort Wayne
Non-Indiana Headquartered Bank Director – Tim Massey, BMO Harris Bank, Indianapolis

Northeast Region Directors
Jeffrey W. Gump, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Laotto
Michael C. Marhenke, iAB Financial Bank, Fort Wayne
Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington

Northwest Region Directors
Benjamin J. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster
Joseph D. Carlson, Community State Bank, Royal Center
Arden L. Cramer, Logansport Savings Bank

Southeast Region Directors
Archie M. Brown Jr., MainSource Financial Group, Greensburg
George W. Ferriell, Bath State Bank
Dennis Wayman, State Bank of Medora

Southwest Region Directors
Michael L. Baker, State Bank of Lizton
Matthew W. Howrey, North Salem State Bank
Kent L. Parisien, The First National Bank of Odon

About the IBA Chair
Annette M. Russell, 2017 chair of the board of the Indiana Bankers Association, is president and chief executive officer of Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport. She is the first female in the Association’s 120-year history to serve in the top leadership position. Also effective Jan. 1, Amber R. Van Til became the first woman to hold title as IBA president and chief executive officer, after prior service as president.

Russell joined Security Federal Savings Bank in 1991 and is a certified public accountant and a graduate of Indiana University-Kokomo, of the Graduate School of Bank Investments and Financial Management and of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking. She serves on the American Bankers Association Community Bankers Council. Past involvement includes service on the board of trustees of Logansport Memorial Hospital; as campaign chair for United Way; as chair of the Logansport/ Cass County Economic Development Corp.; on the Reading Railroad advisory board; and on the boards of directors of the Cass County Chamber of Commerce and Special Olympics of Cass County. Additionally she had prior service on the board of the Indiana Bankers Association as first vice chair, second vice chair and northwest region director. Russell was granted the Indiana University Kokomo Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2006, was inducted into the IU Kokomo Alumni Hall of Fame in 2013, was named Chamber of Commerce Business Woman of the Year for 2007-08 and completed the IBA Leadership Development Program in 2013. She has been honored twice by NorthWestern Financial Review magazine ‒ as a Rising Star in Banking in 2010 and as an Outstanding Woman in Banking in 2014.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana State Bankers Association