Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing inducts new students into program

Last Updated on January 9, 2017 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. —Nearly 50 future nurses took the first steps toward their careers, with induction into the prestigious Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing.

During a ceremony Wednesday, January 4 in Havens Auditorium, 48 students received certificates commemorating their achievement and recited the Nightingale Pledge, a statement of the ethics and principles of the nursing profession. The pledge is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing.

“Induction symbolizes moving forward toward a worthy goal,” said Dean Linda Wallace. “The induction is often a long-awaited step to becoming a nurse. Nursing continues to be the most trusted of all professions. Our newest inductees will join other nurses in assuring that nursing is always the most trusted profession, and honor, and a responsibility we earn or lose with every interaction.”

The new nursing students will participate in community health fairs and clinical experiences at local care facilities during their first year of the program. Their final two years include placements at hospitals, including Community Howard Regional Health, St. Vincent Kokomo, IU Health Tipton Hospital, Marion Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and Community North Hospital.

IU Kokomo graduated 152 Bachelor of Science in Nursing students and 14 Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) students in 2016. The newly inducted future nurses anticipate graduating in December 2019.

In addition to the 48 beginning the B.S.N. program, 35 nurses start the M.S.N. program in January, with 14 in the inaugural Family Nurse Practitioner program.

Students inducted are listed by hometown.

Carmel: Kelsi DeHaven, Anna Luna

Camden: Sadonna Dillon

Cicero: Michala Hirl

Converse: Seairra Johnston

Frankfort: Jessica Alanis

Greentown: Sheila Woods

Indianapolis: Samson Bosede

Kokomo: Anu Arogundade, Taylor Cole, Kylee Cox, Callie Creason, Elizabeth Dada, Lynne Dang, Kristin Gingerich, Hannah Harrison, Emily Jarvis, Mikayla Mason, Khoi Nguyen, Owen Ohman, Stephanie Paul, Janelle Raulerson, Jessica Schultz, Demi Shafer, Victoria Strong, Meliah Wray

Lafayette: Emily Payton, Tia Tate

Logansport: Brooke Bundy, Kaitlyn Cover

Marion: Heather Petro, Ryan Wells

Monticello: Heather Downey, Hagen Jacobs

Royal Center: Lauren Bechara, Ashlee Eberhardt, Madison VonTobel,

Russiaville: Abbagail Burns, Janelle Peterson

Sweetser: Olivia Younce

Tipton: Kayla Harris, Bailee Holler, Kelsey Payne, Whitney Revolt

Wabash: Allison Smith

Westfield: Jennifer Bol

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo


Cass County Online