CCCF grant funds 15 lifesaving devices for Cass County first responders

Last Updated on May 8, 2017 by cassnetwork

Cass County’s first responders received 15 new life-saving devices Monday afternoon thanks to a Cass County Community Foundation fund established specifically for that purpose about 20 years ago.

CCCF president Deanna Crispen said this was a special project that she began researching in March when the community lost a local businessman, Mike Mordenti, whose wife Diana attended Monday’s press conference.

CCCF’s board voted to fund the purchase of fifteen automated external defibrillators (AEDs) – one for each of Cass County’s volunteer fire departments, two for the Logansport Police Department, two for the Cass County Sheriff’s Department and three for the Logansport Fire Department, at a cost of $18,735. Crispen said the Angelos K. Chogas Memorial Fund was established in 1998 for the sole purpose of funding AEDs for public safety.

Troy Pflugner, an AED specialist with Cardiac Science, which makes the devices, gave a brief demonstration of the equipment for those in attendance.

Each device comes with two sets of pads, ready kits, and a carrying case, along with two sets of pads. Pflugner said the first battery is guaranteed for four years from today, with a backup battery with a five year shelf life that’s expected to last an additional four years from installation. Data from each device can be uploaded to a computer or memory stick to provide medical professionals with information about each use.

Crispen said Cass County is about 21 miles from east to west and 24 miles from north to south.

“With these, no one should be more than five to seven minutes from one,” Crispen said. “If it saves one person, it will be worth it.”

Departments receiving AEDs include Clymers VFD, represented by Mike Deitrich; Georgetown VFD, represented by Larry Williams; Logansport Fire Department, represented by Chief Bernie Mittica; Logansport Police Department, represented by Chief Brad Rozzi and Assistant Chief Rob Smith; New Waverly Fire Department, represented by Shane Michael; Cass County Fire District 1, represented by Ryan Kunkle;┬áCass County Sheriff’s Department, represented by Major Jill Rife and Sheriff Randy Pryor; Walton VFD, represented by Ty Rowan; Royal Center Fire Department, represented by Chief Ed Schroder; Twelve Mile VFD, represented by Dave Dawalt, and Young America VFD, represented by Brad White.

Anyone interested in contributing to the Angelos Chogas Memorial Fund or any other fund administered by the Cass County Community Foundation can call 574-722-2200 for more information.