Students recognized at Indiana University Kokomo master’s hooding, honors convocation

Last Updated on May 10, 2017 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo celebrated the achievements of its students during the academic year, with the annual master’s hooding ceremony and honors convocation.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke congratulated the graduates on their accomplishments, and expressed her deep appreciation for their personal commitment to excellence.

“Your scholarly achievements were hard-fought, but they will serve you well,” she said. “Your hard work, dedication, and commitment has played a role in your success.  I challenge you to take a leadership role in your profession, and your community.”

She urged them to continue to make extraordinary effort in everything they do.

“Extraordinary people are those who show up every day and decide not to do ordinary things,” she said. “You have chosen to show up every day at IU Kokomo and do extraordinary things.”

Graduate students celebrated their achievement by receiving the hoods that mark them as having earned advanced degrees. Each one is lined in crimson velvet, for Indiana University, and edged in the color to match the tassel for the degree: Brown for business, apricot for nursing; and blue for public management.

Each graduate student received his or her hood from a faculty mentor, who draped the fabric around each one’s neck before exchanging a handshake — or hug — of congratulations.

The hard work Felita Wash-White put into earning her Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) has already paid off for her, with a promotion at her job at IU Health North Hospital. She also earned the outstanding student award in the M.S.N. program.

“This degree has opened up opportunities and options for me,” the Noblesville resident said. “I’m seen as more of a partner and leader on my unit.”

Her long-term goal is to teach in a School of Nursing.

Joseph Kaminksi, Kokomo, said his co-workers at NIPSCO encouraged him to earn his Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.), to learn skills that could help him progress in his career.

“It gives me a chance to advance myself and keep learning,” he said. “It shows that I am willing to work hard and put time into myself. It was a good decision that will pay off in the future.”

The honors convocation celebrated students who made the dean’s list during the year, and also those who won outstanding student awards in the academic majors. Awards also were given for student leadership, honors program completion, and outstanding faculty.

Health sciences senior Jessica Paul, from Macy, received a medal for completing the honors program. She earned acceptance into the physician’s assistant master’s degree program at IUPUI.

“It means a lot to graduate,” said Paul. “I had a really good experience at IU Kokomo. I like that it’s small enough that you get to know everybody.”

Forest resident Tyler Erickson was pleased to be one of two recipients of the Outstanding Student Leader Award, along with Bailey Troutman.

His faculty members’ campus involvement inspired him to find ways to get involved himself, and he hopes he’s set a good example for other students to follow.

“It meant a lot to me to make a difference on my campus, because this was my home,” he said.

Those receiving outstanding student awards included:
• Sergei Solagian, Tipton, Master of Business Administration
• Bryant Evarian, Fishers, Master of Public Management
• Felita Wash-White, Noblesville, Master of Science in Nursing
• Amber Graves, Kokomo, Associate of Science in Radiography
• Flavio Zampilli, Capodimonte, Italy, Bachelor of Science in Medical Imaging Technology
• Heidi Hendryx, Star City, Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences
• Cheryl Ferwerda, Marion, Bachelor of Applied Science
• Brandon Wysong, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Chemistry
• Holly Roberts, Tipton, Bachelor of Science in Biology
• Tabitha Pelgen, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Biological and Physical Sciences
• Dejianna Butler, Evansville, Bachelor of Science in Informatics
• Justin Murray, Tipton, Bachelor of Science in Mathematics
• Tammy Edgington, Swayzee, Bachelor of General Studies
• Carolina Anaya Pico, Cartagena, Colombia, Bachelor of Arts in Communication
• Whitney Hicks, Russiaville; Bachelor of Arts in English
• Caitlyn Laughner, Kokomo, Bachelor of Arts in Humanities
• Breanna Cogswell, Walton, Bachelor of Science in New Media, Art, and Technology
• Shantel Gaillard, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Psychology
• Matt Lam, Greentown, Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice
• Nikki Brown, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Sociology
• Connor Reed, Macy, Bachelor of Science in History and Political Science
• Fred Matthes, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Business;
• Sarah Jones, Peru, Bachelor of Science in Hospitality and Tourism
• Jordan Douglas, Kokomo, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education
• Nathan Wilson, Walton, Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education
• Katie Mitchell, Marion, Bachelor of Science in Nursing
• Cynthia Moreland, Windfall, R.N. to B.S.N.

Students recognized for graduating from the honors program included Alison Ashbaugh, Elwood; Nicole Brown, Samuel Crippen, Liana Gurney, Caitlyn Laughner, Kaitlynd Lear, Frederick Matthes, and Amber Moore, Kokomo; Jessica Paul and Connor Reed, Macy; Cheryl Ferwerda, Marion; Darion Daugherty and Brent Yard Jr., Peru; Heidi Hendryx, Star City; Siarra Singer, Tipton; and Carolina Anaya Pico, Cartagena, Colombia

Other award winners:
• Mary Westover, Grand Rapids, Michigan, CRC freshman chemistry award
• Tyler Erickson, Forest, and Bailey Troutman, Lapel, outstanding student leader award
• Abel Sutherland, Kokomo, student community service award
• Carolina Anaya Pico, Cartagena, Colombia, , chancellor’s student diversity award
• Jason VanAlstine, Kokomo, resident faculty Amicus award
• Garry Grice, Kokomo, adjunct faculty Amicus award

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo