Indiana Secretary of State reports 2018 Primary Election Voter Turnout

Last Updated on June 14, 2018 by cassnetwork

Secretary of State Connie Lawson announced today that according to the official canvass of primary election returns recently certified by the Election Division, 20 percent, or 870,336 of Indiana’s 4.4 million registered voters cast a vote in the May 8 Primary Election. The complete 2018 Primary Election Turnout and Absentee Chart with voter statistics for each county can be viewed online at The report was compiled by the Secretary of State’s office using voter data gathered in Indiana’s 92 counties.

Voter turnout in the 2018 primary represents a significant increase from the 2014 midterms and is comparable to the 2010 midterm primary. In 2014, 13 percent of registered Hoosiers voted in the primary election. In 2010, 21 percent of Hoosiers voted in the primary. In contrast, Iowa’s Des Moines Register is boasting that, “Iowans busted the voter turnout record” earlier this month with 13.1 percent.

“Candidates and issues continue to drive turnout in elections,” said Secretary of State Connie Lawson. “Contested statewide and county races across the state brought voters from both parties out in significant numbers, and thanks to the preparations made by clerks and election administrators in all 92 counties, Indiana’s reputation for safe and efficient elections continues.”

Jay County boasted the highest turnout of any Indiana county with 57 percent. There were multiple contested races on the Jay County ballot, driving turnout up. Following Jay were Crawford County (38 percent), Daviess County (35 percent), Fountain County (35 percent), and Jackson County (35 percent).

Early voting continues to gain popularity. In 2010, early voting was at 11 percent for the primary election. It grew to 16 percent in 2014. This year, it reached 20 percent. Hoosiers are taking advantage of options the state has provided to make voting easier.

Turnout statistics for previous elections can be found online at

SOURCE: News release from the Office of Indiana Secretary of State Connie Lawson

Cass County Online