advertisers

Find us on Facebook

Heat advisory in effect from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Last Updated on August 25, 2021 by Cass County Online

From the National Weather Service (More info here.)

…HEAT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/
THIS MORNING TO 9 PM EDT /8 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING…

  • WHAT…Peak heat indices in the upper 90s to 105 degrees.
  • WHERE…Portions of northern Indiana, southwest Michigan and
    northwest Ohio.
  • WHEN…From 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ this morning to 9 PM EDT /8
    PM CDT/ this evening.
  • IMPACTS…Hot temperatures and high humidity may cause heat
    illnesses to occur.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

Drink plenty of fluids, stay in an air-conditioned room, stay out
of the sun, and check up on relatives and neighbors. Young
children and pets should never be left unattended in vehicles
under any circumstances.

Take extra precautions if you work or spend time outside. When
possible reschedule strenuous activities to early morning or
evening. Know the signs and symptoms of heat exhaustion and heat
stroke. Wear lightweight and loose fitting clothing when
possible. To reduce risk during outdoor work, the Occupational
Safety and Health Administration recommends scheduling frequent
rest breaks in shaded or air conditioned environments. Anyone
overcome by heat should be moved to a cool and shaded location.
Heat stroke is an emergency! Call 9 1 1.