Logansport Savings Bank Jr. Board holds annual meeting

Last Updated on May 24, 2022 by Logansport Savings Bank

Live from Downtown Logansport at the State Theatre, the Logansport Savings Bank Jr. Board held their annual meeting on Sunday, May 15. The LSB Jr. Board was founded in 2019 and was led during that school year by Chairman, Damon Montgomery from Pioneer High School, but the inaugural board year was cut short due to the pandemic. Let’s look at the past three years.

In late 2017 through 2018, the management team at Logansport Savings Bank sought out a way to impact the youth in our community by creating unique encounters with businesses and nonprofit organizations forming the LSB Jr. Board. The LSB Jr. Board is comprised of 2 juniors and 2 seniors from all four area high schools (Logansport, Lewis Cass, Pioneer and Caston) selected by school administrators. The Board meets during the school year once a month at various businesses, nonprofits, or Logansport Savings Bank during their lunch.

The young leaders have officer roles and general board seats. They learn how a board operates by voting and approving minutes. They speak with local business, nonprofit, and government leaders during their monthly meetings. They also learn about job opportunities within the community as well as many life and business skills to include but not limited to trials, success, teamwork, collaboration, networking and giving back.

The LSB Jr. Board members are encouraged as a group to volunteer and earn money towards a sum of funds later determined by the board to be given to local nonprofit organizations. This year, the board excelled and overachieved their goal volunteering 350 hours of service. The board voted to give Peak Community Services, $1,000; United Way of Cass County, $500; and Logan’s Landing, $500. The 2021-2022 LSB Jr. Board during the LSB Cass County Basketball Tournament raised $2,043 for the United Way of Cass County; $1,000 for the Salvation Army; and $1,708 for the Cass County Humane Society. The past boards also raised and donated funds to Area 5, Cause for Paws and Emmaus totaling over $7,500 in three years.

The 2020-2021 Chairwoman, Eillie Demming from Caston High had the unique opportunity to lead her Jr. Board of Directors via virtual meetings. Throughout the school year, due to the pandemic, at times it was not possible to hold meetings in person.

During the third year of the LSB Jr. Board, 2021-2022, the current Chairwoman, Emma Stinson from Caston High School, had the opportunity to lead her Board and conduct meetings in-person with businesses and nonprofit organizations within our community.

At the annual meeting, Chairwoman Emma and the Board (Vice Chair-Brant Higgins, Secretary-Kaylie Williams, Treasurer-Christian Scott, Marketing-Sarah Pawlowski, Maggie Fincher, Luna Tafolla, Jaden Chin Hong, , Tristin Miller, Ethan Johnson, Kyah Preston, Shivani Gutierrez, Alexander Pawlowski, Samuel Smith, Abby Ellis, and Brady Evans) presented a recap of their board meetings, volunteering efforts and learning experiences to their families, community leaders, school administrators, and the bank leadership. The Board meeting included moments of inspiration from Mayor Chris Martin, past LSB Jr. Board Member, Hunter Schanlaub (Caston), and LSB Board of Director Joyce Eshelman.

Logansport Savings Bank President and CEO Chad Higgins, Joshua Hopper, Sandi Korreckt, and Christina Truax lead the monthly meetings with the youth. Follow Logansport Savings Bank on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to see more about the LSB Jr. Board of Directors.

SOURCE: News release from Logansport Savings Bank