Manning, VanNatter to chair key committees at Statehouse in 2023

Last Updated on December 2, 2022 by Indiana House Republicans

STATEHOUSE – State Reps. Ethan Manning (R-Logansport) and Heath VanNatter (R-Kokomo) today received appointments to chair key House standing committees.

House standing committee appointments are made by the Indiana House Speaker biennially after the November election and are in effect for the duration of members’ two-year terms. Manning will chair the House Public Policy Committee, which will consider and vet assigned legislation throughout the 2023 legislative session.  

“As the new chair of the Public Policy Committee, I’m ready to get to work addressing some of the more complex issues facing our state,” Manning said. “I’m looking forward to getting started and keeping Indiana on the right track.”

VanNatter was reappointed to serve as chair the House Employment, Labor and Pensions Committee.

“Indiana’s population and economic opportunities are on the rise, but we need to expand our skilled workforce pipeline to ensure we can meet the needs of today and into the future,” VanNatter said. “As chair, I look forward to supporting efforts to help hard-working Hoosiers, job creators and economic development.”

“I’m excited about the talents and wide range of experience that our chairs will bring to their committees, and I look forward to working closely with each of them,” said House Speaker Todd Huston (R-Fishers). “As we head into the budget session, we have many challenges and opportunities in front of us, and I’m confident in our team’s abilities to vet and pass policies that put Hoosiers first.”

House lawmakers are scheduled to convene at 1:30 p.m. on Jan. 9 for the first day of the 2023 legislative session. Hoosiers can visit to find legislation, view calendars, and watch committee meetings and session.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana House Republicans