Ivy Tech Kokomo Region honors outstanding employees

Last Updated on April 22, 2015 by cassnetwork

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region recently presented its 2015 Employee Achievement Awards to honor faculty and staff who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and service within the College and its surrounding communities.

Honored during the annual awards ceremony were:

Jan Bailey, honored with the Alene Oaks Memorial Ivy Award given to an employee of IvyTech for more than 15 years who shows exemplary integrity; is valued by colleagues, students and administrators; and works tirelessly for the betterment of the College. Bailey, who has been with Ivy Tech for more than 30 years, has served in a variety of leadership roles, including dean of both the School of Business and the School of Computing and Informatics, one of the first women to serve as executive dean of an Ivy Tech campus (Logansport), and lead of Ivy Tech’s Workforce and Economic Development organization and currently serves as project director of the Ivy Tech’s Youth CareerConnect Grant.

Laura Lanning, honored with the Community Engagement Award for community servicethat exceeds normal expectations and results in a profound, meaningful contribution. Lanning, who serves as program chair for Human Services, was cited specifically for her work with the 4Community Committee, Sycamore Friends Church, Emmaus Mission, Eastern Elementary School, Kokomo Rescue Mission, the Angel Walk/Take Back the Night event, a campus Angel Tree to collect gifts for children in need at Christmas, and a student service project for the new Jackson Street Commons facility for homeless veterans.

Ashley Greer, honored with the Excellent Employee Award for exceeding normal requirements of their jobs in such a way that they serve as role models for others, demonstrating dependability, flexibility and initiative. Greer was cited for her outstanding service in support of Ivy Tech’s Health Sciences facility in the Inventrek building on East Firmin Street. In nomination materials, Greer was described as very dependable, organized, positive, gracious and flexible with professionalism that serves as a role model to those with whom she comes in contact.

Suzanne Dillman, honored with the Outstanding Committee Chair/Member Award for outstanding teamwork and personal dedication to a project or other work of a College committee.  Dillman, who serves as associate vice chancellor for Student Affairs at Ivy Tech’s Logansport Campus, was credited for her efforts to assure success of the annual “For the Love of Education” fundraiser, which this year raised more than $25,000 in support of scholarships for deserving Ivy Tech students.

Sarah King, honored with the Innovations Award for her efforts to enhance the educational experience for students in an exceptional way. King was cited for her “Students First” approach in her work as an assistant director of recruitment for the Ivy Tech Kokomo Region, always thinking of ways to make a student’s first experience a positive one. With her high energy, she uses her creative talent to come up with innovative ways to grow enrollment and present the College as the right decision to a better future for both Ivy Tech students and the communities it serves.

Laura Barnard, honored with the Rising Star Award as an employee with less than two years with the College who has consistently participated in College activities and committees and is an excellent colleague who routinely demonstrates high quality of service to Ivy Tech students. In her role as receptionist/operator for the Logansport Campus, Barnard is the first person many students talk to, either by phone or in person. Her efforts of going above what is requested by students is described as an example of the expert customer service she offers every day.

Mary Pruitt, honored with the Leadership Award for an employee who motivates and inspires fellow employees to excel in client service and who has made students and employees feel important and appreciated by treating them fairly, courteously and respectfully. Pruitt was cited for her work as coordinator of the Learning Resource Center at Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Campus where she offers flexible and compassionate leadership. She was described as having a gift for working with people from all backgrounds, including under-resourced students and those who, like Pruitt when she first came to Ivy Tech, have been out of school for years.

Also presented during the ceremony were two awards from the Ivy Tech Kokomo Region Board of Trustees. These awards went to:

Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Kim King, honored with the Outstanding Administrator Award for her exemplary service to the College and the community. King was described as a leader who works tirelessly for the faculty and students she serves, leading with passion and admonishing, when necessary, with respect and encouragement. Her service outside the College includes both the Greater Kokomo Chamber of Commerce board and the Howard County Partners in Education. In addition to her extremely busy schedule, she is pursuing her doctorate in higher education leadership.

Ivy Tech Kokomo Region’s Department of Career Services, honored with the Outstanding Department Award for work in advancing the mission of the College through providing career counseling and job search and placement services.  The department’s sole member, Career Services Director Shannon Niedzwicki, was cited as doing the work of five people as she helps students from the time they arrive to the day they exit in their efforts to determine their future career path. Niedzwicki was described as innovative, creative, a tremendous team player and true professional.

Nine instructors were honored with the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award. These included Angela
Miller, Healthcare Support; Angela Pickard-Clark, Academic Skills Advancement English; Jack Buckley, Heating, Ventilation and Air Condition (HVAC);  Mike Dukes, Visual Communications, Nancy Smith, Education; Linda Hoff, Office Administration; Robyn Pagington, Academic Skills Advancement Math; Scott Maple, Agriculture; and Mike Dunivan, Fine Arts & Design (Culinary Arts).

David Bathe, chancellor of the Kokomo and Lafayette regions, served as emcee for the event.


Cass County Online