Ivy Tech’s Kokomo Region to present top awards during commencement

Last Updated on May 8, 2015 by cassnetwork

KOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region will present its top awards Saturday, May 9 during its annual commencement ceremony, which starts at 10 a.m. in the Kokomo Event & Conference Center. Two community leaders, a successful alumnus, two faculty members and four students will be recognized for their accomplishments.

The awards and their recipients include:

Honorary Degrees:
Chancellor Emeritus Steve Daily and Kokomo Mayor Greg Goodnight will receive honorary Associate of Science in College and Community Service degrees in recognition of their contributions to the College, its students and the communities served by Kokomo Region.

Alumni Achievement Award
Greg Aaron of Kokomo will receive the region’s 2015 Alumni Achievement Award annually presented to a single alumnus who exemplifies a dedication to work, an appreciation of lifelong learning and a commitment to community.

President’s Award
Ivy Tech Kokomo Region will honor Josh Rockey of Peru, associate professor of Communication and department chair of Liberal Arts and Sciences for the region, with the region’s President’s Award for Excellence. This award is presented annually in each region of Ivy Tech Community College to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in instruction and dedication to Ivy Tech’s mission.

Gerald I. Lamkin Award
Communication instructor Chris Stepp of Kokomo is being honored as this year’s regional nominee for Ivy Tech’s statewide Gerald I. Lamkin Award for Excellence in Instruction. This award is presented annually to an adjunct faculty member of the College who best typifies excellence in instruction and epitomizes the mission of Ivy Tech. Nominations are presented from each Ivy Tech region and a single recipient is chosen for the statewide system.

Chancellor’s Award

Ivy Tech Kokomo Region will honor Tyler Yeakley of Galveston as recipient of the 2015 Chancellor’s Award, the highest student recognition in region. The award is presented each year by the Kokomo Region chancellor to a high-achieving graduating student who has exemplified scholarship, leadership and service. Yeakley is receiving his Associate of Science degree in Nursing.

Dr. Pam Lewis Award for Academic Excellence
Each year, academically high-achieving graduating students are nominated to receive the Dr. Pam Lewis Award for Academic Excellence. From those students nominated as outstanding in their program, a recipient or recipients are selected based on earning the highest GPA in their class, as well as leadership, community service and school involvement. This year, three students were selected for the award — Alisha Boyd of Logansport, who is receiving her Associate of Science degree in Criminal Justice; Mimi Ford of Kokomo, who is receiving her Associate of Science degree in Paralegal Studies; and Parker McAdams of Peru, who is receiving his Associate of Science in General Studies.

Cass County Online