Ivy Tech Kokomo Campus’ Phi Theta Kappa chapter inducts new members

Last Updated on October 25, 2015 by cassnetwork

Students at Ivy Tech Community College’s Kokomo Campus were recently honored for their academic achievement with induction into the Alpha Phi Pi (APP) Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa international academic honor society.

New members inducted during the Oct. 18 ceremony at the Kokomo Campus include:

From Kokomo: Adam Bird, Lisa Burns, Madison Butts, Kathy Jackson, Andrew Kerkhoff, Marcas King, Danielle Lackowski, Ciera Pelgen, Ginger Phillips, Ashton Poynter, Tabetha Skaggs, Shawna Turner, Rachel Vega, Conner Wisher, and Heather Zies-Forrey;

From Galveston: Kathryn Einstein

From Peru: David Atkins, Leota Duke, Donevan Gillespie, Mary Keaton, and Jennifer Santiago-Perez

From Tipton: Christina Chilson;

From Wabash: Philip Balay and Terry Paul;

and from Westfield: Kimberly Overmyer.

New officers welcomed at the ceremony included Angela Bailiff, general vice president, and Kathryn Einstein as vice president of finance. Moriah Mercer serves as president of the chapter, Nila Myers, vice president of operations, and Cheryl Collins as vice president of communications. Chapter advisers are Tyler Corn, assistant professor of mathematics and physics, and Amber Williams, assistant professor of psychology.

Annette Spurgeon was guest speaker, sharing the value of participation in the honorary she has experienced since her days as a member of PTK while an Ivy Tech student in Bloomington. Now the academic and administrative services coordinator for two Ivy Tech sites in Bloomington, Spurgeon earned an associate degree from Ivy Tech and bachelor and master degrees from Indiana State University and is working on her doctorate in educational leadership at ISU. For more than 10 years, she has served as contact advisor for the PTK chapter in Bloomington. She has served as one of the executive board members for the PTK Indiana Region and is now the Phi Theta Kappa Indiana
associate regional coordinator.

Currently enrolled students are invited to join the international academic honor society when they have completed at least 12 program-level or college-level credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5. Phi Theta Kappa has a two-fold mission – to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society has been recognizing and encouraging excellence among community colleges since it was founded in 1918. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor Ivy Tech Kokomo Campus’ Phi Theta Kappa chapter inducts new members society in higher education with more than 3 million members and 1,275 chapters located in 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, UAE and the Republic of Palau. The recognition and scholarship opportunities that Phi Theta Kappa brings to an institution, its faculty advisors, and most importantly to its student members are unparalleled by any other student organization.

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College

Cass County Online