IUK School of Nursing inducts 50 students

Last Updated on January 10, 2016 by cassnetwork

iuk_nursingKOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo recently inducted 50 new students into its prestigious School of Nursing.

Dean Linda Wallace said the induction marks acceptance into the program, similar to the capping ceremonies held in years past, and demonstrates readiness for clinical training. While students may now wear red scrubs instead of white caps, being selected for the School of Nursing is still a great honor, and deserves to be commemorated.

“We are proud of our newest future nurses, and excited about the impact they will make, both in north central Indiana and around the world,” said Wallace. “There is no better place than the IU Kokomo School of Nursing to begin this journey.”

IU Kokomo graduated 147 Bachelor of Science in Nursing students and 10 Master of Science in Nursing students in 2015. The newly inducted future nurses anticipate graduating in December 2018.

Each student received a certificate, and the class recited the Nightingale Pledge, a statement of the ethics and principles of the nursing profession. The pledge is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing. She established the first professional training hospital for nurses in 1860, and influenced the founding of the International Red Cross.

The new nursing students will participate in community health fairs and clinical experiences at local care facilities during their first year of the program. Their final two years include placements at hospitals, including Community Howard Regional Health, St. Vincent Kokomo, IU Health Tipton Hospital, Marion Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and Community North Hospital.

Students inducted into the School of Nursing included Jessica Smith, Amboy; Brandon McCain, Camden; Mindy Meyer, Carmel; Hollie Beckum, Fishers; Jacqueline Carney and Cassondra Porter, Frankfort; Audra Isaac and Morgan Nimtz, Greentown; Oluwafemi Ajewole, Erica Cavanaugh, Hannah Donovan, and Oluwole Ojekekan, Indianapolis; Parvaneh Alipour, Megan Bauer, Alexis Brickner, Allison Cardwell, Jessica Clifton, Ashley Collins, Mallory Hunley, Nevada Jones, Kaitlyn Keeling, Jennifer Miller, Adam Pickard, Ashley Ploughe, Mallory Rowe, Makayla Ryan, Emily Sandlin, Nathan Summers, and Karla Winburn, Kokomo; Kristopher Working, LaFoutaine; Maria Diego Francisco and Allison Erny, Logansport; Teresa Chilgreen and Kali Hawkins, Marion; Rosario Cruz, Hayley Dalgleish, and Patricia Lopez, Monticello; Trina Marks, Pennville; Andrew Amersbach, Ryan Cowles, and Kelsey Kimes, Peru;  Emily Aguilar, Roann; Laura Horban and Tierney Rentschler, Rochester; Lindsey Dick, Lauren Phifer, and Olivia Plake, Tipton; Jade Al Khateeb, Wabash; Kaitlin O’Donnell, Westfield; and Alexandra Getz, West Lafayette.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.


Cass County Online