Student leaders participate in 58th annual Good Government Day

Last Updated on April 4, 2016 by cassnetwork

Logansport High School’s Key Club hosted the 58th annual Good Government Day today, with a slate of students elected by their peers sworn in to serve as elected and appointed city officials for the day.

Mayor Dave Kitchell introduced the guest speaker, Indiana’s former lieutenant governor, Sue Ellspermann, who spoke to students about the importance of being involved in their communities and in the political process.

“This is a great community and it will remain a great community if you come back and invest your future,” Ellspermann said.

Students serving today include:

Mayor Alex Minks
Secretary to the Mayor Noah Deichman
Clerk Treasurer Elizabeth Nies
Deputy Mayor Cindy Orozco
City Attorney Madison Christenen
Police Chief Kyla Pine
Fire Chief Benjamin Chambers
Street Commissioner Jacob Graf
Building Commissioner Keaton James
Code Enforcement Officer Kevin Pruitt
Planning Director Jenn Kreigbaum
Zoning Administrator Jocelynne Moss
Utilities Manager Cameron Graf
Park and Recreation Director Delia Alvarez
Cemetery Sexton Devyn Nacke

City Council
Shailen Heckard
Monika Ness
Kelley Platt
William Harvey
Emily Pomasl
Riley Craven
Justin Shrock

The students will participate in an orientation session at the City Building, followed by a luncheon at the Logansport-Cass County Airport, then will work with their assigned departments this afternoon.

Cass County Online