Ivy Tech Kokomo recognizes student achievement

Last Updated on May 4, 2016 by cassnetwork

ivytechKOKOMO, Ind. — Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region will recognize students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and leadership during its commencement ceremony May 7.

Jacob Ramsey of Kokomo, who graduated with an Associated of Applied Science degree in Automotive Technology, will be honored with the Dr. Pam Lewis Award for Academic Excellence. He was selected from those students nominated for the Dean’s Award in each program who have a 3.75 GPA or higher. Other considerations for this award include leadership, community service, and school involvement.

Dean’s Award recipients are chosen by their program chair based on scholastic achievement, related occupational performance, college leadership and community involvement. Honored as the 2016 Dean’s Award winner in their program were:

Accounting – Douglas Myer, Kokomo

Agriculture – Bret Hisey, Macy

Automotive Technology – Jacob Ramsey, Kokomo

Criminal Justice – Ayla Lawrence, Galveston

Dental Assisting – Gabrielle Ennis, Galveston

Early Childhood Education – Brittany Burnett, Marion

Education – Katelyn Dunham, Kokomo

General Studies – Tara Richey, Walton

Healthcare Specialist – Rebecca Sims, Logansport

Homeland Security/Public Safety – Rodney Brewer, Lafayette

Human Services – Heather Conger, Kokomo

Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning – Jayson Jones, Windfall

Industrial Technology – William Jumper, Kokomo

Medical Assisting – Meaghanne Morris, Kokomo

Nursing – Lindsey Bailey, Kokomo

Office Administration – Elizabeth Myers, Logansport

Paralegal Studies – Janet Beck, Logansport

Paramedic Science – Jerry Smith, Winamac

Professional Communication – Diane Camberato, Lafayette

Software Development – Brandon Sayger, Kokomo

Surgical Technology – Georgiann Haney, Noblesville

Visual Communications – Arianne Pattison, Marion

Graduating students to be honored for their completion of Ivy Tech’s Student Leadership Academy include Shelly Brown of Greentown, Kourtney Hammitt and Suzanne Fallon of Kokomo, and Mariana Ramar and Christina Watson of Peru.

The Student Excellence in Volunteerism Award, which goes to one student in each Ivy Tech region each year and includes a $500 scholarship, was presented to Christina Chilson. Christina is a regular volunteer at the Excel Center in Kokomo, volunteering as a tutor and assisting faculty in helping local adults earn a high school diploma. She also participates regularly in Ivy Tech-sponsored service projects.

The Student Organization Service Project Award, presented each year to one registered student organization in each Ivy Tech region along with $500 to support its activities, went to the Beta Gamma Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.  Members are very involved in the Logansport and Cass County community, donating time to the Logansport School Corporation, the Cass County Animal Shelter, the American Red Cross, and the Cass County Relay for Life.

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region

Cass County Online