Indiana University Kokomo Logo


Outstanding achievement celebrated at Indiana University Kokomo’s 2024 Honors Convocation

Last Updated on April 17, 2024 by Indiana University Kokomo

KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo applauded the academic accomplishments of its students during the annual Honors Convocation Monday (April 15) in Havens Auditorium.

Chancellor Mark Canada welcomed students, their families, faculty, and staff to the annual event, which celebrates students who were on the dean’s or chancellor’s lists throughout the year. It also recognizes honors program graduates, scholarship recipients, and outstanding student award recipients.

He congratulated all award winners.

“This has truly been a wonderful evening for us all,” Canada said. “I know I speak for others when I say we wish you great success in the world as you apply what you have learned inside and outside the classroom at IU Kokomo. Go forth and change the world for the better!”

Outstanding undergraduate student award winners by program included:

Bachelor of Applied Sciences: Amber White, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Business Administration: Katiara McConnell, Indianapolis

Bachelor of Science in Business: Accounting: Sara Penrod, Russiaville

Bachelor of Science in Business: Finance: John Wasmuth, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Business: Human Resources: Gracie Tucker, Elkhart

Bachelor of Science in Business: Management: Ethan Wilcox, Greentown

Bachelor of Science in Business: Marketing: Katlin Garner, Noblesville

Bachelor of Science in Hospitality & Tourism: Lilly Parker, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Public Administration: Patrick Simpson, Noblesville

Bachelor of Science in Sport and Recreation Management: Larissa O’Rourke, Milton, Wisconsin

Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education: Clarissa Vasquez, Greentown

Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education: Noe Dominguez, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Communication: Elise Breisch, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice and Homeland Security: Olivia Feltenberger, Peru

Bachelor of Arts in English: Bethany Maynard, Kokomo

Bachelor of Fine Arts in New Media, Art, and Technology: Elizabeth Byrum, Logansport

Bachelor of Science in History and Political Science: Braydon Lake, Muncie

Bachelor of Arts in Humanities: Madesynn Freeman, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Psychology: Allison Abney, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Sociology: Alex M. Smith, Kokomo

Outstanding Student in Spanish: Jordan Hostetler, Logansport

Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Allied Health Professions: Shelby Walker, Macy

Associate of Science in Radiography: Christina Pritchett, Crawfordsville

Bachelor of General Studies: Hannah Koors, Greensburg

Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Chemistry: Hailey Howell, Elwood

Bachelor of Science in Biological and Physical Sciences: Tera Gotschall, Tipton

Bachelor of Science in Biology: Jacob Pierson, Bunker Hill

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science: Nicholas Thomson, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences: Audrey Strawsma, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Informatics: Michael LaFleur, Kokomo

Bachelor of Science in Mathematics: Drew Caldwell, Kokomo

Students graduating from the Honors program were:

Bunker Hill: Jacob Pierson

Burlington: Kelsey Hammond

Cutler: Lacy Salgat

Frankfort: Arisbeth Rosales

Kokomo: Haob Dos Santos, Brenda Grimm, Nolan Lapp, Bianca Miranda, Claire Nichols, Madeline Sinnamon, Hannah Sandefur, John Wasmuith

Lafayette: Kendra Brewer, Lexi Oswalt

Logansport: Elizabeth Byrum, Jordan Hostetler

Milton, Wisconsin: Larissa O’Rourke

Noblesville: Audrey Soel

Russiaville: Tillie Kanable

Valladolid, Spain: Andrea Mendez Rodriguez

Other award winners were:

Outstanding Student Leader: Chloe Vanwinkle, Swayzee

Amicus Awards: Andy Tuholski, assistant professor of political science, resident faculty; Ashley Duffitt, senior lecturer in biology, resident faculty; Brandi Keith, adjunct professor in sociology, adjunct faculty; and Amanda Bradley, student life specialist, staff.

Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo

Cass County Online