Governor Pence Announces Distribution of $505 Million to Local Governments

Last Updated on June 1, 2016 by cassnetwork

Indianapolis – Governor Mike Pence today announced that county auditors have distributed $505 million to local government units, including $435 million that can be used for transportation infrastructure maintenance for counties, cities, and towns as part of Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 67, which was signed into law on March 23, 2016.

“Early this year, we committed to investing significant new funding in state and local infrastructure maintenance to preserve the Crossroads of America,” said Governor Pence. “Today, we make good on that promise with the distribution of funds to local governments to further improve infrastructure and spur economic development and quality of life in communities across Indiana.”

On April 22, the state made a one-time, special distribution to counties for distribution to other local units using excess Local Option Income Tax (LOIT) reserve funds. SEA 67 required county auditors to distribute all funds to local government units before June 1 in the amounts determined by the Department of Local Government Finance. As part of the distribution, counties, cities, and towns received $435 million that can be used for transportation infrastructure maintenance. Other local government units received $70 million for deposit in their rainy day funds.

In his State of the State Address, Governor Pence outlined a plan to provide more than $1 billion in new funding to preserve and maintain state and local infrastructure, without raising taxes. In addition to SEA 67, Governor Pence also signed into law House Enrolled Act 1001, which provides for additional state infrastructure maintenance funds, while also fully funding the Regional Cities Initiative.

Per reports released by the Governor’s Office, the following amount of money was received by each local government and unit type in Cass County:


Cass County: $1,219,886.21

Township Total: $108,211.59
Adams: $3,115.59
Bethlehem: $4,249.45
Boone: $5,607.26
Clay: $2,093.78
Clinton: $6,966.00
Deer Creek: $6,238.26
Eel: $29,703.52
Harrison: $5,646.29
Jackson: $5,558.64
Jefferson: $3,945.73
Miami: $25,744.78
Noble: $2,332.72
Tipton: $4,639.60
Washington: $2,369.97

City/Town: $1,140,928.33
Logansport Civil City: $1,060.658.96
Galveston Civil Town: $33,994.13
Onward Civil Town: $1,236.57
Royal Center Civil Town: $24,444.40
Walton Civil Town: $20,594.27

School: $99,267.99
Pioneer Regional School Corp.: $14,557.80
Southeastern School Corp: $18,861.21
Logansport Community School Corp: $60,803.38
Caston School Corp: $5,045.60

Library: $163,909.61
Logansport-Cass County Public Library: $132,388.97
Royal Center Public Library: $10,601.30
Walton Public Library: $20,919.34

Special Districts: $146,149.88
Logansport/Cass County Airport Authority: $73,936.85
Cass County Fire District #1: $72,213.03

SOURCE: News release from the Office of Indiana Governor Mike Pence