Ivy Tech Logansport students honored at PTK Catalyst 2019

KOKOMO, Ind. – A group of Ivy Tech Community College students from Ivy Tech’s Logansport campus brought home several international awards from PTK Catalyst 2019, the annual conference of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the international academic honor society for community college students.

The students were honored during the April conference in Orlando, Fla. About 4,000 members, officers, alumni, and advisors representing hundreds of chapters from around the world, including many from Indiana, participated in the convention.

During the gala awards celebration, Logansport’s Beta Gamma Zeta Chapter was recognized as one of the Top 100 Chapters in the world. Beta Gamma Zeta was one of 40 chapters honored with a Distinguished Chapter Award for its entries in the Honors in Action Project and College Project competitions, as well as the Distinguished Honors in Action Program Award and the Distinguished Themes Award for its Honors in Action project on the theme of “Networks of Life.”

Mary Applegate, associate professor of Human Services and advisor for Logansport’s Beta Gamma Zeta chapter, and Amber Williams, assistant professor of psychology and advisor for Ivy Tech Kokomo’s Alpha Pi Phi Chapter, accompanied the students at the conference. Participants included Elizabeth Humphrey and Jennifer Snay, president and vice president of the Logansport chapter; Carrie Sherer, president of the alumni chapter; and alumna Kristin Wilson, all of Logansport. 

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in the United States and 10 sovereign nations. Each year, the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation awards $1.5 million in scholarships to members.

SOURCE: News release from Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Region