Newby Award nominations accepted through June 30, 2019

Who are the outstanding working and retired teachers in Logansport?

That question will be answered by the public as they nominate educators for the fourth annual city teaching honors, the Margaret Newby Award. The fourth annual awards are open to all current and former teachers who have either taught or lived in Logansport.

Recipients will be honored during a luncheon this fall.

Mayor Dave Kitchell says the awards recognize the people who often aren’t recognized enough for their contributions.

“We’ve all been taught by someone, and in many cases, students and parents realize the value of great teachers years after teachers have had certain students,” said the mayor, who taught in public schools for six years. “It’s not easy to become a teacher and the demands of shaping a young person’s future have never been greater. This award symbolizes the appreciation Logansport residents have for the people who have devoted their careers to our young people.”

Nominations will be accepted through June 30 and may be sent to the Mayor’s Office, Room 200 City Building, 601 East Broadway, Logansport, IN 46947, faxed to (574) 753-4644, e-mailed to or dropped off at the Mayor’s Office.

SOURCE: News release from Logansport Mayor Dave Kitchell