Cass County shares in $2.8M federal grant awarded to Indiana PSAPs to enhance their 911 Equipment

INDIANA — Twenty-nine PSAPs (Public Safety Answering Points) across Indiana will benefit from a $2.8M Federal Grant to enhance their 911 Equipment.

The purpose of the 911 Grant Program, provided by the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), is to provide Federal funding to support the transition of PSAPs and their interconnecting 911 network and core services, to facilitate migration to a digital, IP-enabled emergency network, and adoption and operation of NG911 services and applications.

The grant is a 60/40 match where the PSAPs will be required to pay 40% of their project cost while the other 60% is covered by the grant funding.

Treasurer Mitchell, chair of the Statewide 911 Board, commented, “I am pleased that these counties are able to utilize these grant funds to improve their critical services to Hoosiers. Their work is much appreciated.”

Indiana PSAPs submitted sub-grant applications to the Statewide 911 Board who is administering the funds for the state of Indiana. These applications were reviewed by a committee and then submitted to NHTSA for final approval.

Executive Director, Ed Reuter said, “The 911 Grant Program will aid 1/3 of Indiana counties with the financial cost of upgrading the 911 equipment in their PSAPs. The grant provided the opportunity for many of these counties to purchase the necessary upgrades that they may not otherwise have been able to afford. These upgrades will have a significant impact on 911 services across the state.”

The 29 PSAPs who were approved for funding of 36 different projects include:

Bartholomew County 911 Emergency Operations Center
Blackford County Sheriff’s Office
Boone County Communications Center
Brown County Sheriff’s Office
Cass County Central Dispatch
Daviess County Sheriff Department
Dearborn County Communications
Decatur County Communications
Delaware County Emergency Communications Center
Dubois County Communications Center
Fayette County Communications
Jefferson County 911 Communications
Knox County Central Dispatch
LaGrange County 911
Madison County Central Dispatch
Marshall County Sheriff’s Office
Montgomery County Central Communications Center
Newton County Sheriff’s Dept., 911 Center
Owen County Sheriff’s Department 911 Center
Pike County 911
Pulaski County Sheriff’s Department
Randolph County 911 ECC
Ripley County 911 Communications
Scott County Emergency Communications 911
Shelby County Sheriff Department
Tipton County Communications
Union County 911
Wayne County Emergency Communications
White County Communications/E911

SOURCE: News release from the Office of Indiana Treasurer Kelly Mitchell