Future nurses welcomed at Indiana University Kokomo induction ceremony

KOKOMO, Ind. –  The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing accepted more than 50 future nurses to the profession during its traditional induction ceremony.

The event signals welcome not only into the school, but to the profession of nursing, according to Dean Susan Hendricks.

“As we greeted our newest students, I could not help but be honored to consider the part our faculty play in building the future of our profession,” she said. “We aspire to create a caring community in which each student, faculty, and staff member feels a sense of belonging. We work to create an environment that values our diverse student body, and in which everyone contributes to nursing excellence.”

Dressed in IU red scrubs, 55 students crossed the Havens Auditorium stage, accepting certificates of achievement, as well as applause and cheers from their supportive families. The ceremony ended with the recitation of the nursing pledge, a statement of the ethics and principals of the nursing profession.

Students honored are listed by hometown. They include:

Akron: Alexia Durkes

Atlanta: Adriana Castro

Bringhurst: Morgan Thompson

Carmel: Claudia Shelbourn

Converse: Madeline Nall

Cutler: Madison Wade

Delphi: Darci Huffman

Frankfort: Jessica Munoz, Alexis Schrimsher

Gas City: Mackenzie Skeens

Goldsmith: Melynda Boes

Greentown: Sara Hughes

Kokomo: Nakia Brigham, Cailie Brown, Ashley Cone, Camryn Goodin, Salem Hanawalt, Patrick Harris, Cassidy Hoppes, Shalae Lane, Maryam Lawal, Monique Mabona Kanoha Wessi, Kaitlyn Sanders, Matthew Snell, Destiny Wasson

Lapel: Kimberly Joest

LaPorte: Kirsta Greer

Logansport: Jordyn Campbell, Nicole Houk, Gretchen Hunt, Lillith Jay, Erika Mullins, Elba Munoz-Diaz, Mellenie Pearson

Noblesville: Meghan Bartelson, Lindsey Weaver, Lily Welch

Peru: Cindy Cornelius, Ayris Gilbertson, Abby Jewell, Julia Petzold

Rochester: Ayah Abdallah, Amanda Sayger, Bailey VanMeter

Russiaville: Alivia Kirk

Tipton: Kyla Hall, Rachel Majors, Jacob Teuscher

Wabash: Morgan Owens, MaKayla Proffitt, Alicyn Sheets

Westfield: Katie Goldstein, Benjamin Walker

Westpoint: Grace Roberts

Winamac: Christiana Smith

Indiana University Kokomo celebrates 75 years as north central Indiana’s choice for higher education.