Donato elected District 18 State Senator

At a caucus held Monday, Sept. 9 in Peru, Stacey Donato was selected by Republican precinct committee members from District 18 to fill the remainder of former State Senator Randy Head’s term. Votes were cast by secret ballot, with a majority of 50 percent plus one required to declare a winner. The voting process continued through five ballots, with Donato receiving 42 votes.

In addition to Donato, candidates included Jacob Adams, Brian Fitzwater, Timothy Miller, Amy Roe and Jeff Staker.

Donato has served on the Cass County Council since 2012.

“We are excited to welcome Stacey Donato to the Indiana Senate — a new leader at the Statehouse and voice for Hoosiers across Cass, Fulton, Miami, Carroll, Kosciusko and Marshall counties,” said Indiana Republican Party Chairman Kyle Hupfer. “With the experience and background Stacey Donato brings, I know she will continue former Senator Head’s tradition of fiscal responsibility and bold leadership on important issues impacting Hoosiers in the district.”

Head resigned from the Senate effective Aug. 12 to serve as chief deputy prosecutor in Pulaski County, after more than 10 years in the Indiana Senate.