Jason Mitchell awarded the “Richard Cassidy Jr. “Thanks for Giving” Award

Last Updated on November 22, 2021 by Cass County Community Foundation

The 2021 Richard Cassidy Jr. “Thanks for Giving” Award was presented to Jason Mitchell at the Cass County Community Foundation’s “Thanks For Giving” celebration in honor of his outstanding contributions to Emmaus Mission, community volunteerism, and the most vulnerable citizens of Cass County.

The award was established in 2001 in honor of Richard Cassidy Jr., an original CCCF board member and longtime supporter of charitable and volunteer works in Cass County. The award is not presented every year and Mitchell was only the 13th recipient since its inception.

Deanna Crispen, President & CEO of CCCF presided over the event at the Logansport Golf Club. In introducing the evening’s guest of honor, she said, “This year’s award is different from all the rest because tonight, we honor a man who was not born in Indiana or the United States…he came to us from across the big pond and he still talks funny sometimes, but his heart for those who are struggling to find their way is deeper than the ocean he crossed.”

Lisa Swaim, CCCF Board Chair and Bud Reed, CCCF Board Member also spoke, sharing the many contributions Jason has made to those most vulnerable in our community. As Executive Director of Emmaus, Mitchell has been an outstanding advocate for the homeless, the hungry, and those in need. Swaim stated, “Jason is the epitome of a true servant leader, always putting the needs of those he serves first.”

Not one to seek recognition, Mitchell humbly accepted the award and shared his guiding life principles as directed by the book of Romans, Chapter 12 focusing on living in harmony with one another. As a surprise, the CCCF Board also presented Mitchell with a $5,000 grant to further the work of the mission.

Previous winners of the award include Richard Copeland, Judge Julian and Sue Ridlen, Bill Fouts, Dick Rusk, Mike McCord, Richard Scott, George Stephenson, Phyllis Kingery, Jane Miller, Ted Blank, Laura Cain, and the 1993 CCCF Board of Directors.

For more information about the award or the Cass County Community Foundation, please call 574-722-2200.