Two Cass County students awarded Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarships

Last Updated on May 15, 2017 by cassnetwork

The 200 Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship recipients have been selected following a competitive selection process based on academic achievement, teacher nomination and an in-person interview. The scholarship pays up to $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five years after college graduation.

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

A total of 642 students applied for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship with applications coming from 274 high schools in 85 of the Indiana’s 92 counties. About two-thirds of applicants were Indiana high school seniors with the remainder comprised of current college students.

“This scholarship reflects the appreciation we have for those pursuing a career in teaching – a critical and unique profession impacting the lives of every young Hoosier,” said House Speaker Brian Bosma (RIndianapolis), author of the legislation creating the scholarship. “Congratulations to all of these recipients, and it is our hope your talent and passion for teaching inspires others to follow.”

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

Two Cass County students received the scholarship for the 2017-2018 academic year:

Kylie Pugh attends Caston Jr-Sr High School and plans to attend Purdue University West Lafayette.

Matthew Williams attends Pioneer Jr-Sr High School and plans to attend Indiana University Bloomington.

Learn more at Download the full list of recipients in PDF format here.

SOURCE: News release from Indiana Commission for Higher Education